Misaligned Serial Number

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by yakpoo, Nov 28, 2020.

1. yakpoo

yakpoo Member

I got this Dollar bill in change today and noticed that the upper-right serial number has a digit misaligned. I don't recall ever seeing a misaligned serial number before. Is this a common error?

Note-Error.jpg

xCoin-Hoarder'92x likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Bradley Trotter

Bradley Trotter Well-Known Member

Please don't quote me or anything, but I believe misaligned digits are quite common and carry very little to no premium unless the misalignment is much more drastic. However, @SteveInTampa should have a more concrete answer for you.

xCoin-Hoarder'92x and yakpoo like this.
  4. SensibleSal66

SensibleSal66 U.S Casual Collector / Error Collector

Iv'e seen them a number ( no pun intended) of times . Mostly on the last digit though .

midas1 and yakpoo like this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

This is a very minor misprint. Collectors call this a stuck digit or a gas pump error. The low serial number occurs because the numbers on the serial number roller gets stuck or jammed. For those of us who remember the non-digital gas displays, we can see why this misprint is sometimes called a gas pump error.

These are neat to see, but they aren’t rare.

6. SensibleSal66

Cool Ed, Learn something everyday with you . o_O

7. yakpoo

yakpoo Member

Thanks!

I also noticed that the "E" is slightly elevated relative to the "9"...as compared to the other serial number. Silly me...I would have thought the Bureau of Engraving would be more precise than an analog gas pump.

Is this an error they would replace with a Star sheet if they found it? ...or is this so minor, they don't bother?

8. SensibleSal66

They would let it go unless it jammed things up .

yakpoo likes this.
  9. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Supporter! Supporter