Mintage versus rarity

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Long Beard, Nov 23, 2019.

1. Long Beard

Long Beard Well-Known Member

I've been collecting steadily for many, many years. In that time I have seen the hobby grow and decline for various reasons. As a member of two forums, having added this one as the second in recent days, a few things stick out as number one topics based on the posts. Which also hold true at coin shows, clubs and so forth. The number one topic seems to involve Lincoln Cents, and for good reason. It is the number one denomination/series everyone has or does collect. Getting back on topic, the second most common, are the "what's it worth" slash "Is this rare" posts. So I hope this post clears things up somewhat.

Since I'm a fan of the lowly dime, having every one back to 1885 (minus the varieties proofs and of course that 1894s Barber), I'll use these as an example. Every other denomination is similar should you wish to further examine your favorite. So, let's begin by looking at two coins in a middle grade of Mint State 64 (MS64) and based on PCGS listings since they are the top third party grader. The other graders are similar.

We'll start with the 1916d Winged Liberty (Mercury, as they are known) having the lowest mintage of the series at 264,000. Currently there are 107 available and 72 grading higher, MS67 being the top pop. The current average cost, based on a ten year average, is $16,446. Again, this is an average for discussion. Many variables add to the actual price realized such as eye appeal, provenance and so on.

Next, the 1867 Seated Liberty. The series which I am currently one-third through and lacking said specimen. Only a paltry 6,000 coins were struck. Of these, 15 made the grade with another 33 higher, MS67 is also the highest. Based on the same ten year average it brings $2,256.20 at auction.