mint error

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Dixie Umstead, Feb 26, 2017.

1. Dixie Umstead

Dixie Umstead New Member

I have a 1888 or 1898 Indian penny with the edges raised on both sides almost looks like a button , the coin is in great shape what would this be worth? 1488158983782-1786377633.jpg 1488159077643-1423568417.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

It looks like it has been "spooned".

Chris

spirityoda likes this.
  4. Dixie Umstead

Dixie Umstead New Member

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It is not an error coin.
    The edges were hit with an object to flatten it. So it is damaged.
    Worth 1 Cent and nothing more

6. Dixie Umstead

Dixie Umstead New Member

no the edges are rounded I was told by someone who collects coins that it in fact is a error but had no clue what this would be worth so I figured I would post it.

7. paddyman98

The person is wrong. That is not a Mint Error. If you understood the minting process and how errors are formed then you would know that can't occur. Trust me, I have been collecting Mint Errors for 30+ years

8. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

What is the cents diameter compared to another. I do believe that your collector friend is wrong, it looks like it has been spooned.

Ordinary Fool likes this.
  9. David Setree Rare Coins

David Setree Rare Coins Well-Known Member

Spooned coin, or a similar type of damage. People with much time, such as inmates tap the edge of a coin with a spoon repeatedly for weeks or months. After the coin flattens out, they pierce the center, smooth it and, wa-laaa! A ring!

10. Dixie Umstead

Dixie Umstead New Member