Microscope

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Susansfgfan, Mar 10, 2018.

1. Susansfgfan

Susansfgfan New Member

Hi i am fairly new at this and I look at my coins with a loop, I would like to know what type of microscpe would be good for looking at coins.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. TheFinn

TheFinn Well-Known Member

Are you looking for a visual microscope, or an electronic one to view the image on a computer monitor?

4. Susansfgfan

Susansfgfan New Member

I was thinking visual I did not know there is an electronic one for viewing on monitor interested in both now.

5. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor

If you want cheap and poor definition, USB is the one. If you can find a lab binocular scope with glass lens, that you can attach a camera to , that is much better in the long run. IMO. I have and have used both kinds, but still IMO. Jim

p.s If you want to see and photograph the inside of your mouth or nose, etc. USB is better at that :)

6. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

7. dwhiz

dwhiz Collector Supporter

Rick Stachowski likes this.
  8. ken454

ken454 Well-Known Member

9. rmpsrpms

rmpsrpms Lincoln Maniac

10. kanga

kanga 65 Year Collector

I think the first question for you to answer is why do you want a microscope?
    But you may have already answered that for yourself.
    And if so then that should narrow the type of microscope you need.

11. Colonialjohn

Colonialjohn Active Member

No need to go further than Lincoln Maniacs choice. An old B&L is EXACTLY what you want. But if you want pictures from your view then the merry-go-round continues. You also need a good intense light source with B&M. Just a good desk lamp that can focus about half a foot of the coin. That is a GREAT PRICE on that link!!!

John Lorenzo
    Numismatist
    United States

12. desertgem