Microscope camera suggestions?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by AirborneReams, Sep 23, 2020.

1. AirborneReams

AirborneReams Supporter! Supporter

I’ve been taking a lot of pictures lately for my personal inventory and for coins I am listing for sale. The only issue is all I have is my iPhone.. it takes great pictures I can’t complain but I am a little bit! I noticed a lot of people that probably sell a little bit are using things like Dino-Lite to take high resolution scans, and probably some editing because a lot of coins almost look cartoonish.. Does anyone have any suggestions for a good beginner microscope camera? Nothing expensive because I’m just starting out and will upgrade to a higher name brand down the road, especially if this thing stays afloat for me. I found some decent ones on amazon but most of them start off at the 40Xs range and go up, I believe that would be a bit to close. The best rated one I found that’s affordable on is called the YINAMA 4.3 1080p. Any suggestions otherwise would be great! Thank you.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Penny Luster

Penny Luster Well-Known Member

4. jafo50

jafo50 Active Member

I have an (expensive) Dino-Lite microscope and to be honest I've seen photos taken and posted on this forum with $40 USB microscopes that look just as good if not better then the Dino-Lite. I only use the Dino-Lite when looking for varieties and use my macro setup for photos. The USB microscope that Penny provided the link for looks just fine for the money.

5. expat

expat Remember you are unique, just like everyone else Supporter

You need one with a ratched horizontal stand that is tall enough to image Morgans and the like. Most have stands that are too short and can barely image a cent in full. Over time and use the flexible stands become floppy and you really want a stable platform for accuracy.Also 5 mpixels is the minimum if you don't want too much pixelation when you zoom closer.