Mexican Libertad Price Guide?

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by sensehunter, Feb 25, 2015.

1. sensehunter

sensehunter Member

Hi..I am new to Mexican Libertads, buying both MS & Proofs, Silver and Gold issues...attractive, low mintage coins, and, I need a good price guide for them..something the dealers use I suppose? I cannot find world coin prices on PCGS..NGC, no problem. My focus here though is to hear from all of you which best book/price guide to buy.
    Thanks
    Calvin

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

4. xlrcable

xlrcable Active Member

If I'm not mistaken only Volume 1 of the Whitman series has been published so far, and it doesn't list prices. You could try searching on "mexico onza" here:

http://www.ngccoin.com/price-guide/world/

This seems to be the same data as the Krause catalog, and may not always have much relevance to the real world.

5. Jason Hoffpauir

Jason Hoffpauir Avid Coin Collector

I wish I could help you on where to find such coins. I usually check E-bay or APEX. I happen to absolutley LOVE Mexican coinage. Especially the beautiful 1947 - 1948 Cuahtemoc .900 Silver Coins. The 1947 has a much lower mintage than the 1948, but both are beautiful.

1947 Cuahtemoc Silver Coin.jpg 1947 Cuahtemoc Silver Coin reverse.jpg

Hispanicus, J.A.K. and treylxapi47 like this.
  6. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?

Libertads are bullion coins, and should be priced as bullion. They are popular, but are equivalent to Maples, Eagles, Pandas, or any other modern bullion piece.

7. Jason Hoffpauir

Jason Hoffpauir Avid Coin Collector