Metal Detecting - Video of my best coin spill ever!

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by paddyman98, Dec 12, 2020.

1. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Hello everyone,
    Last Sunday I went out with 2 other members of our Metal Detecting Club known as the Dirty Diggin Nuts NYC. I had a great moment when I found a coin spill in a hole.
    6 coins, 3 US Silver and Wheats Cents!

Here is the moment of the find -

There were 2 Standing Liberty Quarters, 1 Barber Dime and 3 Wheat Cents. The last Wheat was in the pile of dirt. It wasn't recorded :facepalm:

I hope you enjoyed my best dig ever! :woot:

Last edited: Dec 12, 2020
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

Here is the complete video -

4. lordmarcovan

lordmarcovan Eclectic & Eccentric Moderator

Oh, those coin spills are magic, ain't they?

I will say that "prying-them-apart bit" with the dig tool made me cringe a bit... ;)

Great vids- thanks for sharing the action!

5. paddyman98

I was excited. I won't do that again!
    Notice how we stated that I didn't yell.. I have a tendency if yelling loud in excitement when I find something neat. It attracts to much attention.. :wacky:

6. lordmarcovan

Oh, I know all about that "getting excited" part.

I didn't yell, but you can hear me get way too excited over a common Barber dime at about 5:30 in this video.

It was a coin I wouldn't look twice at in a coin shop or junk silver lot, but popping it out of the dirt is a whole different experience, y'know?

Yep. You know. You definitely know. ;)

I measure dug finds on a different scale than I do "bought" coins. It's a different point system entirely.

PS- one really shouldn't be rubbing sand off a coin with thumb and finger the way I did there, either... ;)

(I did do it very gently.)

7. yakpoo

yakpoo Member