Marcus Aurelius Marius

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Spaniard, Nov 13, 2019.

1. Spaniard

Spaniard Well-Known Member

Here's a coin I didnt think I'd be picking up this side of Christmas....Thanks Finn235!
    Marcus Aurelius Marius...
    Supposedly a Black smith by trade who joined the Roman army eventually achieving officer status. After the murder of the Emperor Postumus at Moguntiacum the army declared him the new Emperor...He quickly moved the army to Trier where he was eventually killed by Postumus' Praetorian Prefect Victorinus in 269AD after only 2-3 months of reign...
    MARIUS. Romano-Gallic Emperor, 269 AD.
    IMP CM AVR MARIVS AVG, radiate, draped and cuirassed bust right.
    VICTORIA AVG, Victory standing left, holding wreath and palm.
    RIC#17...Mint Trier?
    The coin has lovely detail in hand... marius white background.jpg
    I'd Love to see some 'Usurper' coins......

JulianIX, TIF, Pellinore and 16 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Sallent

Sallent Live long and prosper

Here's my budget Marius

3RzPBnL74fDiL6foyr2YNjG5B9wSQd.jpg

4. Ancient Aussie

Ancient Aussie Well-Known Member

Nice, the patina and detail give it great eye appeal, congrats.

galba68 likes this.
  5. Spaniard

Thanks @Ancient Aussie...
    ...Nice coin...Although all his coins are quite uncommon the OP coin is probably seen the most.....Yours seems to be slightly rarer holding a higher price in general?..Thanks for posting

galba68 and ancient coin hunter like this.
  6. gsimonel

gsimonel Well-Known Member

Virtus reverse, and clean shaven:
    [​IMG]
    Bronze Antoninianus
    Gallic Empire, unidentified mint
    Obv: IMP C M AVR MARIVS AVG
    Rev: VIRTVS AVG - Soldier with spear, leaning on shield
    RIC 19
    20mm, 3.4g

7. Alegandron

Alegandron "ΤΩΙ ΚΡΑΤΙΣΤΩΙ..." ΜΕΓΑΣ ΑΛΕΞΑΝΔΡΟΣ, June 323 BCE

Here are a few of mine...

- MARIUS
    [​IMG]
    RI Marius 269 Gallic Usurper BI Ant CONCORD MILIT Clasped Hands