Major NGC Grading Error or am I an idiot?

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by jnanavich, Jul 24, 2013.

1. jnanavich

jnanavich New Member

OK. I'm a total noob so please don't flame me...

So I bought this coin on Ebay... (I'm sure a lot of great stories start this way...)
    Item 141013782871 - Pics at the end of this post...

It was listed as a gold 1/5 Crown Isle of Man 1989 MS68 so I look up the melt and... wow... it's selling for well under. Graded by NGC as a 1/5C MS68. But then I get the coin. It's a 1/25C in a perfect NGC unaltered slab, no tampering, no signs of foul play, showing 1/5C on the label. So I'm kind of disappointed because of course now what I thought was a great buy under melt is now a hefty overpayment.

But then I started contemplating what my thoughts and options might be...

1. Recognize the possibility that I'm a total idiot and missing something here. I don't collect a lot of coins so maybe I'm just seeing something wrong and the 1/25C on the coin equates to 1/5C in the real world or who knows.

2. See if I can send it back for a refund or offer the seller closer to it's real value. I kind of like the coin and I like the fact that if it is graded in error, it's unique. (Not sure if it's $150 over melt unique though.)

3. Since NGC "guaranteed" this coin, do I have some recourse with them? I read their guarantee policy but not sure if this qualifies as a grading mistake or just a "clerical error." And if so, would I just get the difference in value back from them or a properly graded coin or what? I mean I'm not going to send it back to them just to get the grading corrected. (Would've been a lot nicer if I got a 1 Crown gold after paying for a 1/5C but...)

4. Could it be intentional deception? The case is really perfect. No signs of someone trying to crack it open, looks exactly like other NGC coin capsules I have, etc. I'm not sure how possible or prevalent tampering with an NGC case would even be.