Macrinus Sestertius

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Julius Germanicus, Apr 27, 2017.

1. Julius Germanicus

Julius Germanicus Well-Known Member

I finally got to upgrade my shabby Macrinus AE As to a proper Sestertius.

Macrinus was the first Emperor not of Senatorial rank, but a lawyer, legal advisor to Plautianus, and eventually pretorian prefect. Being a lawyer myself, I feel quite sympathetic for him.

I am not going to bore you with the story of his rise and fall and just leave it with one sentence (courtesy of RIC) which sums it up: "Although the reign of Macrinus contributed little to the glory of Imperial Rome, in contrast with the venomous tyranny of Caracalla and the degrading buffoonery of Elagabalus, it must rank as an interlude of sane, if not brilliant statesmanship."

I have tried to do a little write up concentrating on the history of the history of the dies that were used to make my coin, nevertheless heavily relying on Curtis Clays brilliant analysis in Numismatische Zeitschrift, 93 (1979, p.21-40) and that of Dieter Salzmann in Jahrbuch des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts, 98 (1983, p.351-381)

After Macrinus was proclaimed emperor in Mesopotamia on April 11, 217, following the assassination of Caracalla three days earlier, the news of his accession must have reached Rome in the first half of May, 217.
    After public vows were performed for Macrinus and his son Diadumenianus, who had been proclaimed Caesar by the Senate, the Roman mint immediately began the production of a first emission in all three metals.

In the first four months of his reign, Macrinus was shown with younger features and a short, cropped beard (Type 1 according to Salzmann).