Looking for direction

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Scott J, Feb 6, 2021.

1. Scott J

Scott J Well-Known Member

Hey, new collector here and I'm trying to decide if I need to or should choose a direction.
    Obviously I like Morgans, but I also dig the SLQ's and Walkers.
    My parent's birth years are 1930 and 1936 so that explains the Buffalos and SLQ's and one of the Walkers.
    All the ones in slabs come from Great Collections which has turned into a Sunday night addiction..
    I do think I like the raw coins because I like to be able to hold them. The slabs are great for peace of mind and grading examples.
    Right now I'm looking for a 1917 type 1 SLQ, a capped bust half and a good example Barber half and or quarter.
    For raw coins I was looking at L&C and Dave's Collectibles.
    My funds are limited (I'm a teacher) and was thinking VF and XF would probably be acceptable.
    Any thoughts or ideas?
    Stick with one direction?
    What way would you build onto this collection?
    Thanks!![​IMG]

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

You need to decide what you like and collect just that, especially to start. There's nothing wrong with collecting or trying to build several sets at the same time.

Welcome to CT.

4. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

@Scott J I have had a couple of bad experiances with L&C with raw coins but they are fine for slabbed coins. My bad experiance twice was ordering raw B.U. coins. Indian Head Cents were dipped as was a 1883 Liberty Head Nickel. I have heard Dave's has a good reputation.

5. Scott J

Yeah, that's where I'm at, but everything I start looking I keep finding more and more disjointed coins that don't seem to fit with what I have.
    I guess I feel like going wide, but most collectors seem to go deep if you know what I mean.
    Thanks for the input, I appreciate it.

Collecting Nut likes this.
  6. Scott J