local estate auction! good gamble?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by mhenryfishing, Jun 8, 2013.

1. mhenryfishing

mhenryfishing Member

There was an online estate auction here locally this past week. The bidding ended earlier today. Tons of walking libs, franklins, Kennedys, silver quarters, etc... I bid on and won many of the auctions for under spot which I thought was good. But there were many rolls of half dollars that weren't advertised as silver like the other lots were. It just said assorted on the lot listing... there were 8 lots like this with $30 face value in rolls in each lot. Upon investigating, each ender on each roll that I could make a date out on looked to be a 1969. I won each lot for $35.... and every lot had at least one legible date that had a 1969. What do you guys think? $35 a good gamble on this? That's a total of 24 rolls for very little over face value...crossing my fingers that they are solid silver!!! silver_auction_pics.jpg This is my first time purchasing a lot of coins like this....

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

Hope it works out.

4. Tom B

Tom B TomB Everywhere Else

JFK half dollars from 1969 are 40% silver, not 90% silver, but this still means that each coin has about $3.20 in silver in it. Therefore, if these are 40% rolls then each is about $64. It is not uncommon to buy or sell 40% rolls at a discount to their spot content, but you still do extremely well.

5. Tinpot

Tinpot Well-Known Member

If there was $30 face value in the lot and you only paid $35 with at least one guaranteed 40% then I'd say you definitely took a good gamble. 2 40%ers per $30 lot and you pretty much break even, any beyond that is pure profit :thumb:

6. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

Hope the end coin was not bait.

7. mhenryfishing

mhenryfishing Member