Lincoln Cent Struck on Indian 1/4 Rupee

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Lon Chaney, Jun 14, 2016.

1. Lon Chaney

Lon Chaney Well-Known Member

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Markus1959

Markus1959 Well-Known Member

For one thing how does that happen? And for another, with todays amazing Computer controlled milling, waterjet, cutting, etc. machines - could it be possible these are being intentionaly made just to fool the TPG's?

paddyman98 likes this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It is possible. It was Mint employee assisted back in 1964.. just toss a Rupee into the Cent blank bin and presto!

Last edited: Jun 14, 2016
    Markus1959 likes this.
  5. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

:hilarious::hilarious::hilarious::hilarious::hilarious:

Look, all through history "hanky-panky" has gone on at the mint. It has gotten harder to do these things as each decade has gone by. I have learned that at the ANA's Certification Service in DC that error coins such as this that were 100% made "by the hand of man" were never certified as GENUINE mint errors.

This is one such coin that falls into that category. If it were just a 1964 cent struck on a rupee we could say that a mint employee had some fun. The fact that it is on a supposedly CANCELLED Indian coin makes even more of a stretch!

IMO, TPGS's should have a label category for fantasy coins and Pieces de caprice such as this made for whatever the reason.

paddyman98 likes this.
  6. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

"Today's" technology as opposed to "1964" technology is quite different. I could certainly envision this occurring.

Chris

paddyman98 likes this.
  7. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I love this story.. be open minded. Mint employees were bored back then.
    Look at this NGC item - (not my coin)
    584857-014.PNG

8. jester3681

jester3681 Exonumia Enthusiast