Learning to grade my coins

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by blackarrow, Nov 16, 2018.

1. blackarrow

blackarrow Member

Hello,

since I would like to swap my coins and probably sell some of them, I started learning to grade coins. I can already say that the topic is quite difficult and broad, but my goal would be to reasonable evaluate the state of coins that I have. Here I found nice guide - https://www.pcgs.com/grades but the goal is to be able to grade the coins at least by this simplified chart - http://www.silvercoins.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/11/coin-grading-scale.jpg

Since I am a complete beginner, I am open for suggestions, links, books and anything I could learn more from and please, don't laugh at my poor knowledge :) Anyway, there are few coins I pickup up randomly and tried to grade them:

1 - MS62
    2 - MS65
    3 - VF20
    4 - XF45
    5 - MS63

https://imgur.com/a/qbwpqTv

Also, I am trying to find out if some of these coins have some problems (big scratches, cleaning, residue etc.)

Thanks.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

Join the ANA and order the grading correspondence course. Try to find a coin club near you.

Oldhoopster likes this.
  4. Jaelus

Jaelus The Hungarian Antiquarian Supporter

First, learn to grade up to AU55. You can do this from pictures via PCGS Photograde and various grading books, such as the ANA's.

Once you have that down, study AU58 and MS grades. Looking at slabbed coins helps.

5. Millard

Millard Coindog