L. Calpurnius Piso Frugi - new RR denarius

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Cucumbor, May 11, 2019.

1. Cucumbor

Cucumbor Well-Known Member

Hi CT friends

Although Roman republican coinage isn't a main focus of mine, I find myself with a growing interest in them, and probably a third of my 20 last entries are republican.

That said, sometimes a coin type is so common that one always thinks time will come when they'll find the right one.... but time flies and they still don't have it.

The L Calpurnius Piso Frugi Apollo/horseman is one of those. Although I've been collecting ancient for 40 years, I never found myself ready for one until a few weeks ago

[​IMG]
    L. Calpurnius Piso Frugi, Denarius Rome mint, 90 BC
    Laureate head of Apollo right, Δ below chin
    Naked horseman galloping right, holding whip; above swan. L.PISO.FRUGI / ROMA at exergue
    3,93 gr - 18,8 mm
    Ref : RCV # 235, RSC # 12b, RRC # 340/1-Calpurnia 12b-symbol 166
    Ex. Naville Numismatics

What really drove me to bidding on that one are the swan in the reverse field, above the horseman, and the slight off-center giving a feeling the rider and his horse are going to jump out of the flan just as they would in a rush (a tiny off-center sometimes gives a dynamic to the reverse scene). In hand the toning isn't bad either (yes I'm pretty happy with it as you might guess)

Quotie from a comment in RCV, millenium edition, p.117 : "this extraordinarily large and complex issuerepresents one of the principal war-coinages of the Romans during the conflict with the Marsic confederation. The control marks are legions and consist of letters, numerals and symbols in a multitude of combinations on obv. and rev."

Comments are welcome, and please post anything you find relevant, RR denarii, Gens Calpurnia, horsemen, Apollo, birds (chicken, even cooked chicken with bacon included) or whatever you like

Cheers
    Q

Last edited: May 11, 2019
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.