Kennedy Half Dollar Weight??

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by clary1265, Feb 27, 2012.

1. clary1265

clary1265 Member

Can anyone please help me with the weight on the Kennedy Half Dollars please??

I have several from 1965-2000. The 1965-68 appear to be silver and each weighs 11.5. The 1971-2000 all weigh either 11.1 or 11.2. None of them appear to have major circulation wear at all.

Everything I find on the internet reads 11.34 for regular Kennedy's. I thought it was my scale so I calibrated it to be sure and I still get 11.1 and 11.2. I have to be missing something somewhere.

What are the regular Kennedy's suppose to weigh???

I'm still new at this so any help is greatly appreciated. Thank You.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

'64: 12.50 grams

'65-'70: 11.50 grams

'71 to date: 11.34 grams

4. clary1265

clary1265 Member

Ok. It has to be my scale then. Thank You.

5. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

Well, there are certain +/- tolerances they're allowed to play with. You were dead on with the '65-'68.

6. Lon Chaney

Lon Chaney Well-Known Member

7. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

The weights on your 71 - 2000 are on the low side but they are within tolerance. 11.34 +/- .4 grams Minimum legal weight would be 10.94 grams.

8. stldanceartist

stldanceartist Minister of Silly Walks

Hey all...sorry to revive a long-dormant thread...but just got a Kennedy Half (1974 P) that's seriously underweight at 9.88 grams. Coin looks normal but sounds hollow. Also, on the reverse there is what looks like a seam along the inside edge...but looks more like the entire reverse inside the rim is stamped on a high-relief platform...i.e., doesn't look like it would open at all. Anyone seen one of these, or know what's going on with this coin?

9. John Anthony

John Anthony Ultracrepidarian