Italian Republic silver 500 Lire coins KM#98 Proofs

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by E Pluribus Unum, Nov 28, 2017.

1. E Pluribus Unum

E Pluribus Unum Active Member

I am starting a set of Italian silver 500 Lire coins minted from 1958 to 2001. I am setting up a Excel file to keep track of all of the coins in the series. In doing so, I resorted to the Standard Catalog of World Coins (Krause) and Numista.com. I found a discrepancy between the two sources. Numisma.com shows proof coins were minted from 1985 to 2001, whereas Standard Catalog of World Coins states that proof coins were minted as early as 1968. Is there anyone familiar with this series who determine which source is correct?

serafino likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. mrbreeze

mrbreeze Well-Known Member

I am not an expert in the series, but I have several because I love the design. looking at PCGS and NGC pop reports show...PCGS - 3 prior to 1985 grade as proof, 1 of those CA. NGC has 1 proof and 2 specimens if I remember what I saw. Proof sets started in 1985 and mint sets started in 1968. I can only guess that actual proof coins start in 1985 and 58-84 were specimen/prooflike examples.

TheFinn likes this.
  4. E Pluribus Unum

Thank you! I didn't think to check NGC or PCGS. Krause Standard Catalog of World Coins have entries for PF65 for dates before 1985; however, the mintages are included with the business strikes. From 1985, both business and proof strikes are listed separately.

This is a nice set to collect - especially since there are some interesting commemoratives that were minted along the series: 700th Anniversary - Birth of Dante Alighieri; 500th Anniversary of the Birth of Michelangelo Buonarroti; Galileo Galilei - 350th Anniversary of his masterpiece; 900th Anniversary of the University of Bologna, etc. Italy has a long and rich history.

Theodosius likes this.
  5. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?