It’s not a vice job... but what?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by playguitar, Dec 27, 2020.

1. playguitar

playguitar Member

344F36CA-CF6C-464C-9A88-B828849FABE6.jpeg 6FC8D74C-C28E-414F-9874-B7B9FB174351.jpeg 6FC8D74C-C28E-414F-9874-B7B9FB174351.jpeg 344F36CA-CF6C-464C-9A88-B828849FABE6.jpeg AF6DE3ED-A8DC-414A-800B-7D190BF4465F.jpeg EC8053D2-D8F4-4F56-83FD-564F880BAE5F.jpeg BFFDE628-5AD3-4081-AFFE-3E162A4CA039.jpeg 8F8AD3E0-18AD-4865-82D6-359FADB60EED.jpeg 6FC8D74C-C28E-414F-9874-B7B9FB174351.jpeg 344F36CA-CF6C-464C-9A88-B828849FABE6.jpeg I know you guys want to call this a vice job but most of this is raised letters even when backwards and also I count three at least of the word trust both forward and raised up. But how could that beautiful raised 1975 be on a 1978? I know you won’t believe me but if you could see you would see it’s no way a vice job, I studied engineering in college, ended up a fine artist for 35 years and I’m not ignorant of material science. You can’t mold a copper penny from another copper penny with pressure, you would just flatten two pennies would be my take on it especially after putting two pennies in my vice. Has anyone actually made a vice job penny?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. expat

expat Remember you are unique, just like everyone else Supporter

With the backward lettering it can only be another coin pressed with pressure against the other. Vice job

4. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

I see you are a new member here and hope you have an open mind, but @expat is correct. Anytime the lettering is backwards it's a vice or squeeze job done outside the mint. It just does not happen otherwise. A dropped letter or numeral is even a rare occurence.

5. YoloBagels

YoloBagels Well-Known Member

double vice job

Inspector43 likes this.
  6. SensibleSal66

SensibleSal66 U.S Casual Collector / Error Collector

7. Bradley Trotter

Bradley Trotter Well-Known Member