Islamic gold coin id ?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by Patmac, Oct 12, 2019.

1. Patmac

Patmac New Member

Hi there , I’ve got a probably very old gold Islamic coin , 1 gram , 16 mm and thin .ive looked and looked to find some info about it with no luck so far . Does anyone here recognise it ? Many thanks , Patrick .

Attached Files:

panzerman and spirityoda like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. THCoins

THCoins Well-Known Member

Very bad calligraphy, strange surfaces.. I very much doubt this is genuine.

4. Patmac

Patmac New Member

Ummmm ! Interesting , thanks for that

5. Patmac

Patmac New Member

A little more info ..... it was found in the sea with a few other coins kicking about ... anon follis etc etc so can probably vouch that it’s not a modern fake ,, maybe an old knock off .... I don’t know ?

6. Plumbata

Plumbata Well-Known Member

I have no experience with them but believe that some Norman/Crusader states issued coinage imitating the more regionally common Islamic issues, I'd check that out if you're certain it's genuine.

7. 1934 Wreath Crown

1934 Wreath Crown Well-Known Member

Doesn't even look like Arabic Calligraphy to me. Most likely a crusader state imitation like @Plumbata said above.

8. Patmac

Patmac New Member

Thankyou plumbata and 1934 ...! I’ll check that lead out

9. 7Calbrey

7Calbrey Well-Known Member

Hope the following lot might help to compare. Those 8 Islamic gold coins were offered to me for sale. I couldn't afford any of them, let alone the price of gold. So I said I'd share them among my coin-friends. Hope I'm doing right.
    Isgoldo.JPG Isgold R.JPG

Curtisimo, Alegandron and spirityoda like this.
  10. spirityoda

spirityoda Coin Junky

That biggest 1 is a fatimid. 1 I would like down the road.

7Calbrey likes this.
  11. Patmac

Patmac New Member

Thankyou 7calbrey !

7Calbrey likes this.
  12. coin_nut

coin_nut Well-Known Member

The guys at zeno.ru could probably help ID that one.