Is this toning AT or NT?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by MontCollector, Jul 13, 2017.

1. MontCollector

MontCollector Well-Known Member

This is the 1st toned Franklin Half I have owned. It looks BU in hand. Not sure what it would grade.

I have several toned Morgans and am used to how they tone naturally over time. I have very little experience with Franklin's and toning though. But have noticed some tone dark gold while others do have some color to them.

Is this how a Franklin Half Dollar normally tones? Or has this been artificially toned? Also what do think it would grade out as? 1952FHD.jpg IMG_0001_1-ccfopt.jpg IMG_0002_1-ccfopt.jpg

Thanks...Mont

Last edited: Jul 13, 2017
    Keepright likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. spirityoda

spirityoda Coin Junky

this is a hard 1 to know. was it raw when you bought it ? wait for ther experienced opinions...

4. baseball21

baseball21 Well-Known Member

The bright spotting makes me think it would details grade

Dynoking likes this.
  5. BlackBeard_Thatch

BlackBeard_Thatch Captain of the Queen Anne's Revenge

looks like some substance leaked/splashed onto it

6. Volante

Volante Well-Known Member

Could be natural toning on the base layer, but the blue spots look like environmental damage.

Dynoking, longnine009 and SilverMike like this.
  7. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor

I would vote AT, (Questionable color)

Insider and spirityoda like this.
  8. Keepright

Keepright Member

9. Keepright

Keepright Member

That's pretty nice there.I thought they weren't any good.but they are so popular these days.the New Lincoln penny's are extremely weird.

MontCollector likes this.
  10. MontCollector

Thanks for all the opinions.