Is this the result of PVC damage?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by JCro57, May 22, 2018.

1. JCro57

JCro57 Making Errors Great Again

This is a clad SBA and not even 20 years old. Are these green pitting marks/spots the result of PVC damage? I think so, but I would love people with knowledge of PVC damage to chime in. There are spots on both the obverse and reverse. Thank you for any help you can offer.

hi.JPG

IMG_8461.JPG IMG_8462.JPG

paddyman98 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. JCro57

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Does the NGC label have a Details grade?

5. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

I'd think it could be PVC, or acid from any other source spattered on the coin.

JCro57 likes this.
  6. JCro57

No. But I have seen some with known PVC and didn't get a details grade. I just didn't know if that actually is what it would look like on a smaller scale

paddyman98 likes this.
  7. Oldhoopster

Oldhoopster Member of the ANA since 1982

I agree. Something appears to have started to corrode the coin and the blue-green spot looks like it could by residue from the PVC platicizer. If it's due to PVC, then it will continue to get worse.

JCro57 likes this.
  8. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor

98% sure. The initial transfer could have so small at grading that it was not noticed. If it has only become apparent after slabbing. I would assume some moisture is getting to the original loci it will continue to develop. If it is kept in a sealed container with desiccators most of time, it will limit the enlargement of such.

JCro57 likes this.
  9. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

What?

Definition please :bored:

10. SilverDollar2017

SilverDollar2017 Morgan dollars

Appears to be a small area of PVC damage.

JCro57 likes this.
  11. Mkman123

Mkman123 Well-Known Member