Is this date normal

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Semi, Feb 23, 2020.

1. Semi

Semi Member

I have a dozen or so love tokens and while looking through them the date on one looked off to me ?
    The second 8 and 3 look lower than the 1 and first 8 . I just started collecting seated liberty dimes and I just picked up Whitman's book on seated liberty coins. I see there are plenty of varieties and realize they can only put the most notable/most desirable examples. With that said I'm thinking its just me lol ? Let me know your opinions. Thanks

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. thomas mozzillo

thomas mozzillo Well-Known Member

Welcome to Coin Talk. In 1883, I believe some of the numerals of the date were hand punched into each individual die. If you Google "photos of 1883 dimes" and click on the images, you'll see others that look like yours.

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

5. lordmarcovan

lordmarcovan Eclectic & Eccentric Moderator

The date looks normal to me. It's a decent love token with competent engraving. The host coin is a common date and a date very commonly made into love tokens. I'd figure it as a $10-15 piece.

6. messydesk

messydesk Well-Known Member

Being a little banged up can cause things to look to be in the wrong place. In 1883, the date was punched with a 4-digit logotype, not with individual digit punches, so there will be no variation in the positioning of digits relative to each other.

thomas mozzillo likes this.
  7. Semi

Semi Member

Thanks guys

8. Long Beard

Long Beard Well-Known Member