is this an error?fake?gtg?1835 half cent help

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by shiny coins for life, Mar 30, 2015.

1. shiny coins for life

shiny coins for life Active Member

This 1835 looks off to me. Is it real? If so what grade is it? Is that MD or DD? and what is going on with the L in liberty? I have a lot more questions than answers on this coin. All help will be appreciated.[​IMG][​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

I'm by no means an expert on these but those denticles look very suspicious.

KurtS likes this.
  4. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

I know little to nothing about these, but IMO, a really sloppy copy.

5. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

Well here's what a real one looks like and with a mintage of 398,000 reported , I have my doupts. 1835 15 o.jpg 1835 15 r.jpg

6. Looks like a copy to me...

7. shiny coins for life

shiny coins for life Active Member

8. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

Very different looking from Paddy's example

Paddy54 likes this.
  9. Cringely

Cringely Active Member

It looks like a Cohen-2 variety. Look at http://www.goldbergcoins.com/content/?page_id=3145 to see what a truly fine (not F-12) example should look like. My guess is that it may be real (based on the doubling on HALF CENT), but I couldn't be sure without seeing it in hand.
    If you want an expert opinion and will be in the Dallas area April 30 – May 3, go to the EAC Convention http://eacs.org/2015Brochure.pdf

10. Cringely

Cringely Active Member

The Goldberg link didn't work properly. Go there and look for Auction 77 (January 26, 2014) - The Missouri Cabinet and look at Lot 142.

11. KurtS

KurtS Die variety collector

Hmmm... there's something very "modern" looking about the surfaces, like a recent copy--just my unqualified opinion.

Last edited: Mar 31, 2015
  12. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist