Is this a 1982 Small Date Penny?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Robin Gray, Nov 16, 2018.

1. Robin Gray

Robin Gray Active Member

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. mattjamal23

mattjamal23 New Member

looks like small date

4. Robin Gray

Robin Gray Active Member

Great! Should I keep all 1982 small dates, or is the D or S mint mark the one I should focus on. I guess Im asking the value of it.
    Thanks!

5. mattjamal23

mattjamal23 New Member

id just keep it for now, not really any value uless theres a good error on them, im new to coins, i keep all my 1982s and older, it cost more to get it graded then what its worth.

Robin Gray likes this.
  6. Robin Gray

Robin Gray Active Member

Ok. At least I could tell the difference, which I couldn't do a month ago. Lol. I'm new to this hobby, too.

JPeace$ likes this.
  7. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

The S is a proof. Large date copper.
    Almost all of the 1982's are going to be 1 cent. They made 17 billion cents that year. In the very best condition (MS mint state) the 1982 Philly small date copper and 1982 Philly small date zinc has some value. (50 cents or so). But these are not generally found in circulation.

Robin Gray likes this.
  8. Robin Gray

Robin Gray Active Member

Ok, well this is a copper one, as reflected in it's weight. It's definitely an average looking circulated coin. Guess I'll keep it as an example of small date. Thanks.

9. Michael K

There are less small dates than large dates. In fact there isn't any known number for the small dates. But if there are 6 billion total mintage in Denver in 1982 around 1 billion are small dates. If there are almost 11 billion minted in Philly, there are probably 2 billion small dates. My point is this is not a rare coin and only in the highest grades are they worth more than 1 cent.
    It's absolutely fun to collect the set of 7.
    Philly large copper Philly large zinc Philly small copper Philly small zinc