Is there any Silver REALLY out there?

Discussion in 'Coin Roll Hunting' started by COINnoisseur, Sep 13, 2012.

1. COINnoisseur

COINnoisseur Professional Amateur

I'm new to coin roll hunting. I've been collecting coins for about 3 years, but have just started coin roll hunting. Myself and a friend have been buying rolls of quarters and dimes from local banks in hopes of finding silver. I have spent $380 in the last 3 days from 3 different local banks. I haven't specifically asked for CWR's but i guess the tellers know what I'm doing and have given me rolls with hand folded ends, not BWR's. My question is: is there just a very small amount of silver coins in still in circulation and I haven't looked through enough rolls or am I persuing a futile effort?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. NOS

NOS Former Coin Hoarder

No, it is not a futile effort by far. Two weeks ago I found 21 silver dimes within a few days of each other. Eleven of those silver dimes were in the same roll. Last week I bought $450 in CWR dimes and didn't find a thing. When it is your turn to hit, you will hit. Silver coins that are "still in circulation" from when they were released contemporarily are by and far in very small amounts. I think what the bulk of what we find when we find a silver coin in circulation is a coin that was relatively recently released by someone who doesn't know what they have or just doesn't care.

4. clorox

clorox Member

It varies based on so many factors: Location, bank, which tellers are on duty, time of day, phases of the moon, the price of hard red winter wheat, who's running in the 4 o'clock race at the Aqueduct, etc. etc.