Is NGC blind or am I seeing things? VarietyPlus Shenanigans

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Sunflower_Coins, Oct 8, 2020.

1. Sunflower_Coins

Sunflower_Coins Importer and Exporter

So, I cherrypicked what I thought was an 1884 MPD FS-301 a while back. It seemed like a decent enough coin that I threw it into my NGC submission with the VarietyPlus fee. My submission came in the mail earlier today:

1884 1C_01.jpg 1884 1C_02.jpg

However, it didn't come with an attribution, but this little note instead:

1884 1C_03.jpg

This is my first time using NGC's VarietyPlus, and I must say I'm disappointed, either in NGC or my own stupidity (if I've done something wrong). The variety is listed on their VarietyPlus catalog, and I wrote it onto my submission form for the coin (as FS-301 under the Variety Column). Is there something I've missed on this MPD, or a process I flubbed up? Or is VarietyPlus really that hit or miss?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. kanga

kanga 65 Year Collector

Apparently VarietyPlus is limited to the ones mentioned -- at least for IHCs.

4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

I think I see the top of the "8" but I don't see the "4". Why don't you call NGC Customer Service to initiate a review?

5. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?

Are there other die markers that could help confirm the variety? I'm not familiar with Indian cent varieties.

6. Sunflower_Coins

Sunflower_Coins Importer and Exporter

FS-301 is shown on the VarietyPlus catalog (although they only have one example certified). It's also in PCGS's website-they have 14 examples certified. I'm not sure why there's a disparity.

I think I see the cross of the 4 exactly two denticles right of the second 8, but I'm not sure. I'm considering calling their customer service but I'll have to wait until tomorrow, and even then I don't really know what they can do for me. Until then I figure it makes good discussion.