Is it possible to have one side "blank"?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by iPen, Jan 12, 2018.

1. iPen

iPen Well-Known Member

Specifically, I don't mean a blank planchet wherein "blank" is a descriptor of what the planchet looks like right before the coin gets struck (and also when the rim is already formed). But rather, where one side looks as if it was just punched out of the alloy sheet - it's completely flat with no concavity or raised rims. The other side has a raised rim and is indistinguishable from other regular coins. Is this possible or are all examples machined blank PMD?

Thanks in advance!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

No.. not possible

4. paddyman98

When the Blanks are fed into the edge Upsetting machine both sides will be raised. There is no way one side will stay completely flat.

mikenoodle, Chewmassa and iPen like this.
  5. Chewmassa

Chewmassa Now where could my pipe be?

Sometimes I feel like I've been fed into an upsetting machine...

6. iPen

iPen Well-Known Member

I guess it's impossible for that to happen today, since the machine tolerance is tight (@2:12 below). But what about back in the day, like in 1900?

paddyman98 likes this.
  7. iPen

iPen Well-Known Member

8. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

There is actually one possibility I can envision . . .

Imagine two blanks being fed into the coining chamber, one on top of the other. That would leave both coins able to receive one half of the design, and nothing on the opposite side of each of the blanks. The upset edge on the blank side of each coin would be flattened out again, producing a coin similar to that described by the OP.

It would help to see the coin the OP describes.

eddiespin and iPen like this.
  9. Searcher64

Searcher64 Member

If two planchets were stacked and stuck together, then it could be possible to have happened. Time of when, is the key.