Is it Greed?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by coin-crazy, Oct 30, 2010.

1. coin-crazy

coin-crazy Senior Error Searcher

I wonder why most collectors would sell their most prized collections? It seems like there is a price for everything. I have a few coins that I could sell and make a few dollars, but I chairish my collection.Were as other collectors would sell theirs at the drop of a dime.Im a newbie , so is there something more Im missing about this hobby?:confused:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. quartertapper

quartertapper Numismatist

I learned a long time ago that a great deal of people would sell anything for a price, including loved ones and internal organs. I don't think it's greed. It's just some people's mentality. Some people just have no sentiment for anything in life.

4. 10gary22

10gary22 Junior Member

I am in the process of sorting my collection. It is meager and mostly junk coins taken from circulation. I have no heirs that are interested in getting them. If I find something worth selling now, while I have control over the sale, it is better than to wait and have a dealer take advantage of my wife who does not participate in the hobby. I certainly cannot take them with me and don't want to see them disposed of for a fraction of their value.

gary

5. quartertapper

quartertapper Numismatist

I can't argue with your actions at all, Gary. I'm hoping to raise my children to appreciate coins, as well as my inheritance. If I fail, I may part with my prized collection before I move on to the next life.

6. 10gary22

10gary22 Junior Member

To date, I have only sold some junk Silver and a few duplicates. I will never sell another intact proof set though. Why sell the set for the price of the half ? lol But it has been a lot of fun learning how to create accounts, listings and completing sales. Better than watching Judge Judy or Oprah. lol And it is stimulating enough to keep a few brain cells alive....... I hope.

gary