Is It Bad Form?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Randy Abercrombie, Dec 10, 2018.

1. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

I have been a vocal opponent of the TPG’s. However I do love their on line authentication service and use it regularly.

If I am buying a coin on line I research the TPG authenticity service before I place a bid or make an offer. So here’s my question. Is it appropriate to check the authenticity while standing in a dealers place?

My number one guy, I wouldn’t consider doing it. But I could see being out of town in a different dealers place perhaps. He doesn’t know me and I don’t know him. And maybe he gets a bit miffed while I check his coin on my phone. And I am savvy enough to know that bad vibes can translate to higher prices.

Would you check authenticity while standing in a dealer place?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Why not? He does not have to know what you are doing! Better safe than sorry!

jafo50 and Randy Abercrombie like this.
  4. ddoomm1

ddoomm1 keep on running

And, on the other hand, you could explain exactly what you are doing and make light of the situation - that you have no reason not to trust the seller but that you don't want to get burned. Depending on the seller, this may still not be a foolproof plan.

Randy Abercrombie likes this.
  5. Lehigh96

Lehigh96 Toning Enthusiast

Not only would I do it, I would tell him that I was doing it if he bothered to ask me what I was doing. IMO, there is nothing to hide in this regard.

Kasia, Paul M. and Randy Abercrombie like this.
  6. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

\

Absolutely.........If he's a reputable soul he won't consider such bad form. It's called doing your homework.

Paul M. and Randy Abercrombie like this.
  7. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?