Is going to a Coin shop a good thing or bad?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Kay67, May 23, 2024.

1. Kay67

Kay67 Member

I've got a few coins I'd like a professional opinion on, and am thinking about going to my local coin shop, but I'm nervous about it.

Because I'm new to this, I'm worried they will wave me off and not want to deal with a newbie who's got some interesting coins. My 1970 S Small date penny and my 1974S penny with a brilliant shine just for example, plus a few others that have some interesting or odd details.

Do you guys think I should just go, or not because I don't want to be waved off? Am I being silly for just thinking about it too much?

Thanks for your input.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. wxcoin

wxcoin Getting no respect since I was a baby

You should go! You may get some valuable feedback as well as establish a business relationship. You will undoubtedly see a lot more coin types in their inventory that may stir your interest.

4. johnmilton

johnmilton Well-Known Member

A coin shop is only as good as the people who run it. If they are honest and knowledgeable, it can be a wonderful beneficial experience. If not, well there are other places to go.

coin dog, MIGuy, Player11 and 6 others like this.
  5. charley

charley Well-Known Member

Research if there is local coin club in your area. If there is, attend. I am sure you will be the recipient of experienced opinions.

6. Kay67

Kay67 Member

That's an excellent idea, I'll look into it.

So I went over to my local shop, and just as I expected, he was not interested in anything I had. He was polite and professional, but basically made me feel like I was wasting his time. (Even though there was no other customers. Oh well).

He did however, confirm my 1970S penny is a small date, and offered me $5. I didn't take it, I'm keeping it in my collection.