Is "downgrading" by a potential buyer a common problem?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by ccarroll, May 19, 2015.

1. ccarroll

ccarroll Member

I'm just a poor humble newbie :D trying to sell a few coins, and have been making inquiries and seeing a few dealers.

In particular, I was shopping around a 1900 Austrian four-ducat coin, and two reputable dealers in New York, when I asked how they'd classify it, told me the condition was "very fine." I made a clumsy attempt to post a not-very-good picture here, and got a comment that it looked better than that.

So I went to a third place, and this time I just said, "I was told that the condition would be extremely fine - is that about right?" And person said, oh, yes, or maybe even a little better.

I'm left wondering: Is it common that when a dealer is also a potential buyer, that he's likely to downplay the condition because he's figuring on offering a lower price? This was very disconcerting.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. rooman9

rooman9 Lovin Shiny Things

Just like everything. It depends on the person. Some people are more honest than others. Grading is also very subjective from person to person.
    And yes they do need to be able to make a profit.

4. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

It happens quite often. Even when the coin is holdered by a TPG in a particular grade some dealers will dispute the grade.

BadThad, Seattlite86 and rickmp like this.
  5. Blissskr

Blissskr Well-Known Member

Yes grading is subjective and if you posted a 'not very good' picture it's likely the that the dealers who have seen the coin in hands interpretation of grade is closer to the actual condition. Though dealers looking to buy generally want to get the item for the best price they can. Which doesn't always mean the best price for the seller but they are trying to run a business after all.

Seattlite86 likes this.
  6. Brett_in_Sacto

Brett_in_Sacto Well-Known Member