Is coin tracker accurate?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by coooooooooooooins, Feb 4, 2018.

1. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  2. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Maybe not 100% but it is a great source for pricing in my opinion. The values they give, or any other good pricing website give are estimated values.
    That's why I have shared cointrackers it with you.
    Prices fluctuate. Value depends on condition of a coin. Before you price a coin yourself you need to know how to grade any coin. That takes time.

Last edited: Feb 4, 2018
  3. minimal average grade is worth 1 dollar which seems off

4. sakata

sakata Devil's Advocate

No idea which coin tracker you are using or coin you are talking about but bear in mind they are probably retails prices. That means they are the price a dealer will charge you for them. Dealers have to make money and have a minimum price for processing any coin.

5. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

If the site I'm thinking of, you'd be wise to avoid it.

6. paddyman98

7. Aotearoa

Aotearoa Currently Smitten with DBLCs

I’m struggling to understand how that website could be useful.

jafo50 likes this.
  8. paddyman98

Struggling is bad. Hope you one day make it.

9. Aotearoa

Aotearoa Currently Smitten with DBLCs

OK, so I'll elaborate. First up, I decided to look up the value of a 1848 Large Cent. That didn't work: CoinTrackers doesn't list Large Cents. All right. I then decided to use a 1912-S Lincoln Cent as a test case. This is what I learned:

"The numismatic value" is $22 to $270. "This price does not reference any standard coin grading scale."

How does that help me put a value on the XF45 1912-S Lincoln I have in front of me? If you find the site useful, more power to you.

paddyman98 likes this.
  10. BooksB4Coins