Irish political tokens

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by BRandM, Aug 1, 2011.

1. BRandM

BRandM Counterstamp Collector

001.jpg 002.jpg 003.jpg 004.jpg

As some of you know I'm an avid collector and researcher of primarily 19th Century U.S. counterstamps. I've also had an interest for some time in the political stamps of Northern Ireland, those I call "troubles counterstamps." Just within the past 6 months or so I decided to branch out into this area of collecting and try to put together a comprehensive group of these tokens. So far I've only acquired a small number of the three dozen or so documented issues definitely linked to the Catholic / Protestant conflict in that region. Undoubtedly, there are many others that haven't been identified as belonging to this series. The "end game" for me is not only to collect them, but also to document new ones and research their history, the issuers involved, and the purpose of each. Eventually, I plan on writing an article detailing my findings and submit it to the Token and Medal Society (TAMS) Journal for possible publication.
    The two examples here are from my collection and promote a pro-Protestant sentiment commonly seen on Irish coins of the 1960's and 70's. "REM / 1690" is an abbreviation for the phrase "Remember 1690", 1690 being the date of the Battle of the Boyne fought near Drogheda, Kingdom of Ireland. The combatants were the Protestant King William III (William of Orange) and the deposed (in 1688 by William) Catholic King James II. William's army won handily and James fled the country. The victory guaranteed the supremacy of Protestant rule in the region. Today, the battle is commemorated by the Orange Order every year by parades sometimes refered to as "The Twelfth."