Introducing: The Poe Collection of Moroccan Coinage

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by physics-fan3.14, Nov 16, 2019.

1. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?

Many of you are aware that I have been collecting the coins of Morocco for many years now. I've shown various pieces as I buy them, but I haven't shown nearly all of them. My collection has grown now to 71 coins, with plenty of room to expand. Thus, I thought it was time to create a Registry set for this collection. My goal, as always, is to present high quality pictures and interesting descriptions of each coin. However, for this set I am also telling a story through the coins - the French Conquest of Morocco. I begin in the early days, before European powers started to intervene in Morocco. I trace the growing French influence, describe how they finally took control of the country, and then I tell the story of Morocco's struggle for independence.

I hope you enjoy reading about this, and looking at my set! I have enjoyed creating it.

https://coins.www.collectors-society.com/WCM/CoinCustomSetView.aspx?s=27306

tibor, ddddd, hotwheelsearl and 2 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I really like your history accounts..
    Quote - "so Spain declared war and landed a large force at Ceuta. This force then captured the important coastal city of Tetouan. As a result of this defeat, Morocco was forced to sign a treaty granting all of Spain’s desires, as well as paying very large reparations" closed quote... interesting stuff.

4. CircCam

CircCam Victory

Phenomenal coins and I love reading the accompanying history so far. I also enjoy that you shared additional numismatic knowledge throughout, making it educational on multiple levels. Congrats on the accomplishment of this set and thank you for sharing your efforts!