Interesting photo technique for high relief coins

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by calcol, Apr 5, 2017.

1. calcol

calcol Supporter! Supporter

Nyatii, Paul M. and Rick Stachowski like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Interesting
    I use a similar technique called..
    Focusing! :wacky:

But I understand his technique. (Photoshop kind of expensive)
    Thanks for sharing.

4. dwhiz

dwhiz Collector Supporter

I had to try it with my half arse set up
    gb hr.JPG

5. kanga

kanga 65 Year Collector

Don't forget there's Photoshop Elements which is a relatively inexpensive subset of Photoshop.

dwhiz and paddyman98 like this.
  6. Dougmeister

Dougmeister Well-Known Member

... and GIMP is free...

7. benveniste

benveniste Type Type

There are various tools for focus stacking available, ranging from free software (CombineZP) through software and hardware combinations running into the thousands of dollars (StackShot, etc).

8. rmpsrpms

rmpsrpms Lincoln Maniac

Does GIMP do stacking? I started out with CombineZM, then CombineZP, which are both free. I now use Helicon Focus.

Usually for full coin shots, stacking is not required unless the coin is not flat due to tilting, either intentional or un-intentional. Even high relief coins can be adequately imaged at the f/11 Phil mentions, but not if they are tilted.

Where focus stacking is absolutely required is for higher magnifications. Above 1:1, the depth of field starts to get very shallow, and stacking is needed if you want a sharp final image.

9. robec

robec Junior Member

I occasionally use Helicon Focus also.

10. SuperDave

SuperDave Free the Cartwheels!