Interesting article on Gold

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Coinman1974, Apr 14, 2010.

1. Coinman1974

Coinman1974 Research, Research, Research

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. CheetahCats

CheetahCats Colonial & Early American

1/100th is scary, but not surprising. I did a little bit of research into gold a few years back, but didn't think it was to that extent of a ratio!

I sorta surmised that there was a lot of Vapor being pushed around.

I'm no expert, but I wonder what the ratio really would be if all the conspiracy theorists are correct, and there's a lot of light bulb filaments mixed into those actual stockpiles too!

4. quartertapper

quartertapper Numismatist

If I'm understanding this correct, this is basically a stock market, or maybe just another way of gambling. If I personally want to invest in any precious metal, it will physically be in the palm of my hand upon payment for it. I find it hard to believe that some of the smartest investors and businessmen in the world are stunningly dumb enough to fall for a gold contract.

5. Marshall

Marshall Junior Member

This is what happens when people start living on promises rather than actually creating THINGS. Why should gold be any different than Credit default swaps or index funds of companies who no longer make their money by producing THINGS rather than empty words and promises.

6. Coinman1974

Coinman1974 Research, Research, Research

When reading this the first thing that came to mind was "Black Thursday, October 24, 1929". I mean this is literally just a repeat to some extent is it not?

Regards,
    Stan

7. Cloudsweeper99

Cloudsweeper99 Treasure Hunter