Input On Standing Liberty beauty

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by larssten, Oct 1, 2016.

1. larssten

larssten Well-Known Member

Just got a hold of this one from a larger lot. It looks great without wear, but I'm no expert on the high grades. Anyone with a guess on grade or can say if this coin looks like it's been cleaned? Doesn't look like the white color of other coins I'm sure has been cleaned..

Thanks!

[​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rick Stachowski likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

Why do you think it's been cleaned ?

4. Paul M.

Paul M. Well-Known Member

I don't see any signs of cleaning in your pictures. Does it show hairlines under a strong light?

5. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

The coin looks cleaned to me, most obviously left of Miss Liberty and left of the eagle.

Insider, Rheingold and krispy like this.
  6. larssten

It's not like I actually think it's been cleaned. It's more that I have never had my hands on a older coin with such luster and bling. Also has no toning, just very shiny, so wanted to hear someone else's opinion [emoji4]
    Can't really see any hairlines.

7. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

Same here. Looks cleaned to me.

Insider and krispy like this.
  8. jester3681

jester3681 Exonumia Enthusiast

Very inconsistent fields, now that Mike and Larry draw my attention to it. Something is amiss.

9. orifdoc

orifdoc Well-Known Member

Cleaned yes, undoubtedly. There are multiple areas of obvious parallel hairlines, but the bigger issue is flashiness without a typical luster pattern - typical of polishing. A bit of remaining normal luster can be seen on the reverse, around the eagle's head and in the protected areas between the lettering "QUARTER DOLLAR."

Cool coin nonetheless. One of my favorite designs and quite unlike any other circulating US coinage.

10. larssten