information about faded reverse

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Erik Deetjen, Sep 16, 2017.

1. Erik Deetjen

Erik Deetjen New Member

Im a rookie collector and was curious if coins that have this fading reverse are errors.... I've seen a few coins like this. Where the letters are faded in a ring format. Is this a double die? Or was it seated bad when punched? I'm looking for educational help. I'm not sure if this has a certain name and if this is truly an error coin. Thanks in advance from the new guy. IMG_0961.JPG IMG_0978.JPG IMG_0961.JPG IMG_0978.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Tyler Graton

Tyler Graton Well-Known Member

Coin rolling machine did that.

4. Erik Deetjen

Erik Deetjen New Member

Thank you!! That totally makes sense!! I appreciate the answer and feel a bit silly. But, at least I know what I'm looking at now. Thanks again!!

5. Tyler Graton

Hey, dont worry, This was probably one of the first questions i had when i first started. No one is judging you here, or atleast not most people. We all understand. most people will say " its important to learn about the minting process before going into coins" or...

http://www.error-ref.com/part_xi_-_non_errors/

And this

http://www.error-ref.com/

The bar on your left side i would go through and see what are errors and what are not. P.S. it may take you a while to understand that this is what you really need to do. Overtime you may think you have an understanding of what errors are and what arent errors by just learning here on cointalk, doing that you may throw something back that you thought wasnt an error, but it really was.. Highly recommend you look at this all!

Erik Deetjen likes this.
  6. Oldrdawg

Oldrdawg Active Member

Yes, welcome to CT. Tyler is right, there's a great group of people here. The only stupid question is the one you have and don't ask.

Erik Deetjen and Tyler Graton like this.
  7. eddiespin

eddiespin Fast Eddie