image reference on us coins

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Youngmaster, May 5, 2020.

1. Youngmaster

Youngmaster New Member

I look at coins and think theres something off about that one and turns out they are the same as the others. So i need something that i can look at and make sure its the way its suppose to look with comparison. I asking if you know how I can compare it with a perfect example? This goes for all coins im starting with pennies. Thanks!!!

alurid likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Compare it for what reason? Why? You're not making any sense. ~ Chris

4. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

It is better just to compare with two or three other coins. Otherwise you could purchase a PF-70 example of every coin you want to study.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

How long have you been collecting?

To start buy the RED BOOK. An Important book for coin collectors.
    2021.PNG

6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

7. l.cutler

l.cutler Member

Don't worry too much about slight differences between coins. Different dies, different die states, some better struck than others, circulation damage. You would have a hard time finding two identical coins.

8. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?

The Redbook is an absolute must own book - and is the perfect answer to your question.

Oldhoopster likes this.
  9. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor

You might try this online source

https://www.pcgs.com/prices/us

When you get there you will find a coinfacts to click that gives information and nice photos of a particular type of coin. Alsp in the left column you can click on PHOTOGRADE with photos to see how to grade specific types of coins , a price guide, etc. ( Its a commercial company, so they strongly favor PCGS date.

Jim

10. Youngmaster