I'm stumped

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by bditto39, Jun 20, 2020.

1. bditto39

bditto39 Active Member

I am a little confused on this one, so I would like some help diagnosing the damage. It's too small, so dryer coin, right? But it's under weight so acid right? But what is tripping me up is the ridges that make it look like a lamination error...what's up with that? What do you think @paddyman98 ?
    20200619_231907.jpg 20200619_231916.jpg 20200619_232000.jpg 20200619_232141.jpg 20200619_232313.jpg

Attached Files:

Stevearino likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. CoinDoctorYT

CoinDoctorYT Well-Known Member

This coin was put in a tumbler. Thats why it has that weird wear. The cracking, however, I have no clue.

Stevearino likes this.
  4. bditto39

bditto39 Active Member

Makes sense of the overall damage.

Stevearino and CoinDoctorYT like this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Definitely Damaged. That Lamination look is not a lamination. Just a strange effect it akes when tumbled as stated.

Here is some great information with a picture of a Nickel with the same effect -
    http://www.error-ref.com/dryer-coins/

Last edited: Jun 20, 2020
    Stevearino and bditto39 like this.
  6. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

Its acid....
    Take a copper cent ,place a drop of acid dead center....as it eats away at the medal it will spread....that lip or what youre call lamination isnt it is where the outer rim of the acid stoped. Or was neutralized.
    You can see the same effects on the reverse.

7. nuMRmatist

nuMRmatist Well-Known Member

That analogue caliper is a nice piece!

8. bditto39

bditto39 Active Member

Thanks! I figured it would have something to do with the overall damage but I didn't know for sure.
    That could make sense of it too, but the tumbling seems to make sense of the overall damage as well. Either way someone tortured Mr. Lincoln here.

9. bditto39