I'm on a Roll > AZ DieBreak

Discussion in 'Coin Roll Hunting' started by AZSteve, Sep 26, 2020.

1. AZSteve

AZSteve Well-Known Member

Today I found this in my incessant roll-hunting > a 2008-P AZ Quarter with a Rev die break below the Prickly Pear Cactus at the base of the Saguaro (I'm from AZ so I know the names). It creates a new paddle or split paddle which covers some of the designer initials (the last close-up is of a normal coin, for comparison). A known error, but no additional die break above the date. The coin is otherwise in pretty decent shape. So, it this just a collectable anomaly, or does it have any significant extra value?
    2005P-AZ Obv,wRevDieBreak.JPG 2005P-AZQtrRevDieBreak.JPG 2005P-AZQtrRevDieBreakClose.JPG 2005P-AZQtrRevNormalClose.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

If it is a Die Break then in my opinion it has no premium.
    Nice pictures. What is your method?

capthank likes this.
  4. hotwheelsearl

hotwheelsearl Well-Known Member

I always felt that “errors” that require 20x mag aren’t really that worthwhile

5. lordmarcovan

lordmarcovan Eclectic & Eccentric Moderator

Ditto. But to each his own. It's all still just pocket change to me, but if folks like looking for microscopic errors and/or varieties, more power to 'em. I just don't have the eyesight for it, let alone any interest.

But I suppose there's not a lot of downside risk or need for a big investment if you're cherrypicking stuff from circulation. It's all good.

Yes, nice pictures.

6. AZSteve

AZSteve Well-Known Member