I'm just not seeing it

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by BigTee44, Apr 18, 2015.

1. BigTee44

BigTee44 Well-Known Member

ive had this 1909-S Likcoln for a few years now and finally sent it in for grading.

Came back AU details obverse cleaned.

Now I'm not going to say I'm a copper expert but this coin has great luster on both sides and I'm just not seeing the cleaning.

Can anyone see where this coin has been cleaned?

Before heading to NGC
    image.jpg image.jpg

After
    image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. 19Lyds

19Lyds Member of the United States of Confusion

Nope! Send it in again.

4. Kirkuleez

Kirkuleez 80 proof

It doesn't look like the same coin to me. The one in the NGC holder looks cleaned, but your earlier images don't look cleaned.

Jwt708 likes this.
  5. BigTee44

Maybe it's the lighting. Still unpacking so my coin lamps are still in a box somewhere.

6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

NGC use special equipment to look at coins that are suspected of being cleaned. It actually informs them of what type of cleaning was done... so I have heard

7. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

If you look at this image, it shines like a " Shield " would. which means cleaned image.jpg

8. coop

coop Senior Member

The cheek and jaw looks worn on the high points. (well from the images provided) 1st and 3rd images.

9. desertgem

desertgem Senior Errer Collecktor

I think a cleaning designation is proper. The first photo, shows a pink tinge and an odd distribution of minor corrosion process, the slabbed photo show a more obvious difference between the obv. and rev. surfaces.

10. BigTee44

Yea I'm not questioning the AU part but the cleaning is throwing me off.

But how does a cleaned coin still show almost full mint luster?

11. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital