ICCS versus PCGS for Newfoundland coins

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by gibsport, Jan 9, 2016.

1. gibsport

gibsport Active Member

Is there a collector preference or premium using ICCS over PCGS for Newfoundland coins. I recently got a mostly red 1944 cent and am considering sending it in to one of these to be slabbed. 006.JPG 007.JPG

Attached Files:

• 009.JPG
      009.JPG
      File size:
      235.7 KB
      Views:
    stevex6 and coinman1234 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Last edited: Jan 9, 2016
    gibsport likes this.
  4. coinman1234

coinman1234 Not a Well-Known Member

gibsport likes this.
  5. gibsport

gibsport Active Member

I agree with the red/brown. Although it is redder than it appears in my lousy pics. I have heard ICCS is a stricter grader so I thought there might be a premium despite coming in a flip. I prefer slabbed as well.

6. techwriter

techwriter Well-Known Member

gibsport, sort of depends on a couple of things:
    1. are you going to keep it? or
    2. are you going to try to sell it?
    If 2. is true then:
    1. sell to Canadian customer? or
    2. sell to US or other country customer?

I'm "assuming" you live in Canada.
    Selling it:
    As a generalization US collectors prefer PCGS or NGC; Canadians seem to have same preferences if possible but do respect ICCS.
    Keeping it: your choice

One more thing: you might want to check coinsandcanada.com for grade and trend pricing.

gibsport likes this.
  7. gibsport

gibsport Active Member

I actually live in the U.S. I was originally just going to keep it for myself until I checked on one site and it showed $1500 for MS-63. Now I'm thinking I'd like to just go ahead and sell it. I guess I feel I should have it graded first though.

8. jester3681

jester3681 Exonumia Enthusiast

If you plan to sell it, and plan to in the US, I'd recommend PCGS.