I SEE A RED STAR Why?

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by shilines, Dec 7, 2023.

1. shilines

shilines Active Member

Hello Collectors,
    This is my first time creating a thread in the paper money category, but I received a dollar bill back in change that I found rather interesting. The first thing I noticed was a piece of red over the green seal which is not common on a dollar. When I took a closer look it was actually a red star!!! I did some research and found absolutely nothing . I chalked it up by saying perhaps some six year old got a little stamp pad collection of various symbols for their birthday and tried out the first stamp which was a star on a crispy dollar bill lol. But before I put it in the quarter change machine at the laundry mat I decided to check with you all first! IMG_20231207_091653_MP~2.jpg IMG_20231207_091705_MP~2.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Coins4Eli

Coins4Eli Collector of Early American Copper

Looks drawn on to me. Some kid had fun with the markers :writer:. This is not an error. :)

Inspector43 likes this.
  4. shilines

shilines Active Member

Yeah maybe so, but it will take a pretty steady hand to draw a star that perfectly with no error as far as going out side the line of the star! Thanks for your input

5. shilines

shilines Active Member

Could be a newly discovered error. I'm being optimistic forgive me!

6. SteveInTampa

SteveInTampa Always Learning

There’s absolutely no red ink within a hundred yards of the printing of these notes. It’s definitely been added to the note long after it left the BEP.

7. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

Look closer. A part does go out of the lines. Altered note. Show it around and let someone want to buy it. Then sell it to them and make them happy.
    It's the Holidays. :D

Kentucky and Inspector43 like this.
  8. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Definitely added after it left the BEP.

Inspector43 likes this.
  9. Inspector43