I NEED YOUR HELP!!!

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by hollie77, Sep 19, 2019.

1. hollie77

hollie77 New Member

I have this Hawaiian "error" coin, supposedly. The only thing that i can find about the exact one that i have is in an article from The Hawaiiana Numismatist posted on 07/26/14. The coin is, according to this article, a really rare bronze mule,that looks to be gold plated possibly. What makes it so rare is that it has the 1883-1983 King Kalakaua Centennial on the obverse but mated with THE HAWAIIAN MINT 1975/ HONOLULU,HAWAII on the reverse. According to this article, the coin was first discovered on auction at Ebay and was the only known coin of this type. I dont know if I have that very coin or if there is actually more than one, or if this coin is even actually real or fake. I am fairly new at this coin collecting having just started a few years ago when i was given my uncles collection after he passed. If anyone has any info at all on this coin or any info on the guy who wrote the article in THE HAWAIIAN NUMISMATIST on 07/26/14 your help would be very appreciated. Unfortunately I do not have a good pic of the coin as i am at work at the moment. However, if you look at the article that i mentioned my coin is exactly the one pictured in 2nd part of article or if I get any replys i will post pics as soon as i get home. Thank you very much.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

You should always post pictures if you are going to ask a question.
    Sounds like your coin is a reproduction if I am reading your post correctly.

hollie77 and PlanoSteve like this.
  4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Geez! Why can't people wait until they get home to post their thread about some rare coin? Is it because you don't get paid for company time at home?

Chris

PlanoSteve likes this.
  5. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member