I have a chance to buy Ancient Roman Coins - which ones should i get, how do I know?

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by jasontheman07, Mar 23, 2011.

1. jasontheman07

jasontheman07 New Member

Hi all,

I am very new to coin collecting but told a friend about my new hobby and they told someone who has an antique shop and they have 4 bags of ancient roman coins and are wanting to sell them for about $30 a bag - each bag has 10-15 coins. They guy said on the phone they are all from 200ad-400ad.

I will be going soon to look at them and want to know what should I look for? the best condition ones? Or are any certain roman coins worth more?

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. jasontheman07

jasontheman07 New Member

Also, the guy said he soaked them in distilled water for weeks. he said he has plenty more bags too. I checked prices on ebay and the ancient roman coins seem to sell for anywhere from 2 dollars to 100... shouldn't they all be super-valuable if they are 2,000 years old? Or only the better looking ones? I have so many questions, but just want to know what I should look for when i go to buy these coins, which ones will be the most valuable?

4. Mat

Mat Ancient Coincoholic

200-400AD is a good range and there is many coins to look for. But there is alot of common/junk ones too.

I suggest is if they let you look at the coins in the bag, go with whatever one just speaks to you. I myself have only been collecting ancients for a year now but I am attracted to the severan period. I also have a soft spot for the roman empresses.

Also make sure the coins arent just a bag of uncleaned ancients. You would know once you see them.

I suggest checking out the website below just to get your feet wet. The schooling for ancients is endless but rewarding & fun.

http://dougsmith.ancients.info/

5. jasontheman07

jasontheman07 New Member