I have a 1966, 1975, and 1978 dime with no mint mark...and I'm hopeful.

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by sch, Jun 5, 2012.

1. sch

sch New Member

I recently found a 1966, 1978, and 1975 US dime that do not have mint marks. I am a novice at coin searching and thought someone with a keen and experienced eye could tell me if these are anything to get excited about. I know that Philadelphia did not have mint marks at this time and that its a long shot for any of these to be anything special. They are a bit shinier than the other dimes I found them in but I understand that that really doesn't mean much. The 1966 dime has very defined features though they are a bit worn from obvious circulation. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time and consideration.

THANKS
    SCH

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

Welcome to CT. Sorry to have to dash your hopes, but no mint mark on these means Philadelphia mint. No added value.

4. BUncirculated

BUncirculated Well-Known Member

You have $.30 in dimes.

As Rick pointed out, no mint on business strike dimes are Philadelphia coins. They didn't start adding the P mint mark until the late 70s, like 79 with SBA dollars.

Also the dimes without mint marks, and highly sought after are proof dimes struck IN San Francisco, in 1968, 1970, 1975, and 1983, as well as some business strikes in 1982.

pyro-dan and swamp yankee like this.
  5. Hobo

Hobo Squirrel Hater

I believe you meant to say the highly sought after dimes are 1968, 1970, 1975 and 1983 Proof Dimes without a mintmark.

swamp yankee likes this.
  6. BUncirculated

BUncirculated Well-Known Member

Yes thank you.

Willysilver likes this.
  7. sch

sch New Member

Thank you for your information