I found a 1947 Wheat Penny. Errors 1 (947) & Liberty. Whats my next step?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by TF629, Nov 18, 2018.

?

1947 Penny value? Is the 1 missing?

1. Yes the 1 is missing

1 vote(s)
    10.0%
  2. To much damage

10 vote(s)
    100.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. TF629

TF629 New Member

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Dougmeister

Dougmeister Well-Known Member

Too much damage.

4. Dave363

Dave363 Well-Known Member

Welcome To Cointalk
    PMD post mint damage not a mint error spend it.
    Dave

I_like_Morgans and furryfrog02 like this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Next step.. Coin jar heading for Coinstar machine.
    But It will probably reject it with so much damage :yack:

Last edited: Nov 18, 2018
  6. SilverDollar2017

SilverDollar2017 Morgan dollars

The 1 is missing because it was damaged by something, which practically obliterated the 1. PMD (post minting damage) not an error.

I_like_Morgans likes this.
  7. TF629

TF629 New Member

Thank you .I'm new to this hobby. I was told I needed something to keep me busy since I've been back from the sandbox. Any advice of what I should be looking for from 1957 - 2018?

8. coin roll

coin roll Active Member

Pakistan?

9. TF629

TF629 New Member

No ... Any diamonds in the ruff I could find worth anything? Between 1951-2018 any coins? I can't tell from the internet that would be a really worth anything

10. PlanoSteve

PlanoSteve Well-Known Member

@TF629, first, welcome to CT!

This is a great site, not just for "aged" collectors, but also for newbies! :smuggrin:

Personally, I would call the coin you posted a "keeper" - at 71 yrs old with the battle scars it has, it could really tell some stories, even though it's only worth the cent that it is.

First, I would advise that you collect what YOU like, what is attractive to YOU. As you will see as you peruse this site, we all have different preferences.