HWE's TOP TEN

Discussion in 'Ancient Coins' started by hotwheelsearl, Dec 16, 2020.

?

Which coin is your favorite? Pick up to 2

1. Augustus As, SC

3 vote(s)
    11.1%
  2. Arcadius AE4, Victory

1 vote(s)
    3.7%
  3. Aurelian Ant, Sol

1 vote(s)
    3.7%
  4. Gallienus Ant, Fortuna

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Severus Alexander AE, Diana

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. Constantine I Follis, Campgate

8 vote(s)
    29.6%
  7. Maximianus Large Follis, Moneta

2 vote(s)
    7.4%
  8. Constantine I Imitation, VLPP

6 vote(s)
    22.2%
  9. Postumus Ant, Spaghetti

8 vote(s)
    29.6%
  10. Constantius Gallus AE2, FTR

15 vote(s)
    55.6%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. hotwheelsearl

hotwheelsearl Well-Known Member

Hello, I only started collecting ancient coins in March, so I am very new to the hobby, with an amateur's budget as well. Nevertheless, I thought you people would enjoy seeing my top 10 (extreme) budget purchases of the past year.

In order of lowest to highest:

10. Augustus AE As
    Obv: CAESAR AVGVSTVS TRIVNIC POTEST. Bare head right
    Rev: C GALLIVS LVPERCVS IIIVIR AAAFF. Large SC surrounded by legend
    Ref: RIC 379
    Date of Acq: March 5, 2020
    Price: $10.67
    Augustus RIC 379 (2020_11_18 03_38_31 UTC).JPG
    There is nothing special about this coin, really. It's a common As of Augustus with rough, porous surfaces. But it is the first ancient coin I ever bought with the intention of starting a collection. The price opened my eyes to just how affordable Romans could be, even a larger coin of a popular emperor.

9. Arcadius AE4 (13mm)
    Obv: DNARCADIVSPFAVG. Diadem bust right
    Rev: SALVSREI PVBLICAE. Victory dragging captive left
    Ref: RIC IX Constantinople 86c, B
    Price: $0.81
    Arcadius Constantinople RIC IX 86c B (2020_11_18 03_38_31 UTC).JPG