Hunting Lincoln Pennies - are these results typical?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by VT4Pac, May 25, 2018.

1. VT4Pac

VT4Pac Active Member

Hi everyone, so I'm relatively new to the whole hunting for error coins thing and recently finished going through all of these pennies. I was searching for varieties found in the Cherrypicker's guide and the "Strike it Rich" book.

These pennies are all random, collected from family and friends, with nothing from rolls. My results are as follows:

- 2 minor lamination error coins
    - 2 DDO's - both 2006 fairly common, nothing special
    - 14 wheat pennies
    - pennies from various dates in good condition I'm keeping
    - a pile of "whatsits?" that are probably PMD but I'm going to look into further
    - 6 coins with die breaks but only one with four on it that's probably a decent find

I am kind of learning as I go and probably missed some. But, for those of you that hunt Lincolns regularly are these results typical? Would you figure I'd find more or less having gone through this quantity of coins? The old whiskey jug is a gallon I believe.

Anyways, I appreciate any feedback and I'm going to keep pushing on. I'll be getting a 5 gallon water jug of pennies soon from my uncle that he's built up over decades.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Dave363

Dave363 Well-Known Member

Well I personally never kept track but I believe each CRH has different results from what I have seen on cointalk. JMO
    Dave

VT4Pac likes this.
  4. Richard gladfelter

Richard gladfelter Well-Known Member

Do you have pictures of the 2 DDO?

5. Jeepfreak81

Jeepfreak81 Well-Known Member

Not sure how many pennies were in your search lot but I recently went through about 1500 pennies and found less than you did so I think you did well. I think I ended up with about 6 or 7 wheats and a few other low mintage years plus some just to fill holes in my folders.

6. VT4Pac

VT4Pac Active Member